Borg Man's World

A few of our favorite things…

Tiger’s Fall…He’s Human After All

Posted by Brian Borgman on December 12, 2009

Tiger, I’m sorry.  We held you up on such a high pedestal.  Don’t misunderstand me.  I’m not condoning what you did…and ultimately it was your own fault and your responsibility.  Unfortunately, as high up as we held you, you had no alternative but to fall.  I’m also sorry that we seem to delight in your mistakes.  You just seemed to have it all together.  Honestly, I think your mistakes just makes the rest of us feel better about ourselves.  It makes you just like the rest of us.  It makes us feel “normal” again.

Tiger, you are an extra-ordinary golfer, but like the rest of us you’re a fallen man.  Have you ever read about King Solomon (see the book of Ecclesiastes in the Bible)?  He had it all also…but it wasn’t enough.  He kept striving for more and more and always felt ‘the grass was greener on the other side’.  He finally came to the conclusion that he was “chasing after the wind” and that it was all meaningless.  His solution?  Chase God.  He’s the only One that can bring true satisfaction.  All the other stuff in this world will keep us wanting for more.  There will always be someone or something a little better than what we have or are.

Tiger, I think you’re kind of like our modern-day, Solomon.  You’re the best golfer in the world, you have more money than you know what to do with, you have a beautiful wife, you get respect wherever you go…but it still wasn’t enough.  You thought you were still missing out on something.  Understood.  Again, you’re normal.  You’re a fallen man just like the rest of us.

Tiger, let me refer to another scripture…check out Philippians 4:12.  The apostle Paul talks about being “content in every situation”.  Unfortunately, I think that’s one of the reasons we’re all so interested in your story.  We thought Paul was talking to the rest of us…not individuals with your kind of wealth, influence, abilities, etc.  We thought it was easy for you to be content.  We’re the one’s who are supposed to struggle with being content.  Not you.  That’s why we’re enamored with your story.  It makes you real to us.  Your problems make us feel better.  Again, I’m sorry.

Tiger, here’s what your story has taught us…

Being content with our position in life is a struggle for every single one of us.  Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s healthy to better ourselves.  However, as with everything, there has to be a balance.  On one end of the spectrum, the lack of drive causes complacency and laziness.  On the other end, the endless pursuit of perfection and the drive to become better than the person ahead of us is a never-ending, no-win pursuit.  There’s always something or someone better out there.  If we’re not careful, we’ll destroy what we already have trying to gain what we (think) we want.

Tiger, here’s what your story has taught me, personally…

I can’t be content in this life without focusing everything in my being on Jesus Christ.  If I don’t focus on Christ, I have no option but to compare myself to someone else…a recipe for disaster.  Christ is and was the only perfect human being.  Why would I want to look to anyone else but Him?  If I look to anyone but Him, I’m setting myself up for failure before I even get started.

Tiger, I applaud you for doing the right thing and making your family a priority during this time and attempting to right your wrongs.  I wish you and your family God’s speed and ultimate blessings while you address the issues at hand.  Lastly, I eagerly await your return to golf as a new man; an example to us all on how to overcome the mistakes we all make in our lives.

7 Responses to “Tiger’s Fall…He’s Human After All”

  1. Barney Barnett said

    AMEN, AND AMEN!!!

  2. Well said, Brian. Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  3. Very well done, Brian. You said what has been in the back of my mind – I really hurt for this man and his family. Way to go – phrasing it in the way of godly advice for each of us.
    Thank you.

  4. Mark Nickel said

    It is interesting how I feel myself drawn to Tiger’s saga. I keep wondering what is going on internally with him, what he truly thinks. Is he broken? Or is he just “managing” the crisis? Does he see a need for true change? And if so, what will be his source of strenth, hope and guidance through this change? Is he asking “create in me a new heart” and “renew a steadfast spririt?”

    What a tremendous witness he could be if he surrenders his life to our King and Lord.

    Thanks for the reminder that I will not find contentment and peace in what this world has to offer. God Bless.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
